With four minutes to play in the second period, Nesterov was given a five-minute major and a game misconduct for a hit from behind that McKenzie never saw coming. Here's the video. Judge for yourself.
Yikes. That's a dangerous hit as Nesterov got McKenzie square on the numbers, sending McKenzie into the boards at an awkward angle with little chance of protecting himself. I don't think anyone can argue that this wasn't a dangerous hit as McKenzie was accepting a pass and Nesterov simply stepped into his back.
McKenzie, as you saw on the video, was favoring his leg, so I'm hoping there isn't some sort of major injury. Any time the neck or back takes a jolt like McKenzie's did, there's a chance that there could be a worse injury. Nesterov, for his part, didn't seem to protest much, so I assume he knew he did wrong. The only question is how long he'll sit for as I'm almost certain the Department of Player Safety will review this hit.
Here's hoping that Curtis McKenzie isn't seriously injured.
Until next time, keep your sticks on the ice!