Monday, 24 June 2013

Your 2013 Stanley Cup Champions

Again, someone had to lose. The Chicago Blackhawks appeared to be that team in tonight's Game Six, trailing 2-1 with 1:30 to go. It appeared the Madhouse on Madison would get one more game to determine a winner between the Chicago Blackhawks and the Boston Bruins in this thrilling series.

That is, until Bryan Bickell decided he wanted overtime.
And so it seemed we'd have a fourth game go into overtime between the Bruins and Blackhawks. It would be fitting that this game would end in overtime considering how close this series has been contested. That is, until David Bolland, just 17 seconds after Bickell wanted overtime, said, "Not on my watch."
And with the 3-2 lead, the Blackhawks exhausted the clock and the celebration began! The Chicaho Blackhawks are your wire-to-wire NHL Champions as they captured the Stanley Cup! While many were leaning towards Cory Crawford being the Conn Smythe Trophy, the success of Americans as the playoff MVP continued as Patrick Kane was called to accept the Conn Smythe Trophy. He follows fellow Americans Tim Thomas and Jonathan Quick, and makes it four American winners in the trophy's history as Brian Leetch captured it in 1994.

Congratulations go out to the Chicago Blackhawks, your 2013 Stanley Cup Champions!

Until next time, keep your sticks on the ice!

No comments: